National Centre for Combustion Research and Development

Indian Institute of Technology Madras & Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

faculty

Dr. Sundararajan T

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM & Coordinator, NCCRD

Research Interest : Spray Combustion,Computational Fluid Dynamics and Heat Transfer

Email : tsundar@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Chakravarthy S.R.

Professor , Department of Aerospace Engg., IITM & Coordinator, NCCRD

Research Interest : Laser diagnostics, Solid propellants and Computational combustion, Combustion and Propulsion, Combustion instability, Solid Pyrolysis, Combustion fluid Dynamics,

Email : src@ae.iitm.ac.in

Dr. Amit Kumar

Assistant Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg.,IITM

Research Interest : Computational combustion applied to low speed flows, Fire safety research (microgravity to terrestial environments)

Email : amitk@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Muruganadam T.M.

Assistant Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Combustion, Stabilisation, Blowout dynamics Optical diagnostics, Spectroscopic methods Fluid mechanics, Gas Dynamics

Email : murgi@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Ramakrishna P A

Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg, IITM

Research Interest : Combustion, propulsion, energy conversion

Email : parama@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Sujith R.I.

Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Combustion Instability,Acoustics,Optical Flow Diagostics (PIV, PLIF, LDV, PDPA)

Email : sujith@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Mahesh Panchagnula

Professor, Dept of Applied Mechanics, IITM

Research Interest : Atomization and spray combustion, Surface tension phenomena, Multiphase flows

Email : mvp@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Nagarajan R.

Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Fine Particle Science & Technology, Chemical Vapor Transport & Deposition, Ultrasonic Cavitation in Liquids

Email : nag@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Niket Kaisare

Associate Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Model Predictive Control; Approximate Dynamic Programming; Artificial Lift Optimization in Natural Gas Reservoirs; Catalytic Combustion in Micro-Reactors; Multi-Scale Modelin

Email : nkaisare@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Preeti Aghalayam

Associate Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Coal gasification, Reactor Modeling.

Email : preeti@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Pushpavanam S

Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Mathematical Modeling and Simulation, Nonlinear dynamics, Flow Visualisation.

Email : spush@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Renganathan T

Assistant Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM,

Research Interest : Multiphase reactors, Computational Fluid Dynamics

Email : renga@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Sreenivas Jayanti

Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Computational Fluid Dynamics.

Email : sjayanti@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Vinu R

Assistant Professor, Dept of Chemical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Biomass conversion to biofuels and intermediates, Microkinetic modeling of polymer reactions, Photocatalysis.

Email : vinu@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Nilesh Jayantilal Vasa

Professor, Dept of Engineering Design., IITM

Email : njvasa@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Rajakumar B

Assistant Professor, Dept of Chemistry, IITM

Research Interest : Gas phase chemical kinetics, climate change, Global warming, Atmospheric chemistry, Experimental studies using Cavity Ring Down Spectroscopy and Laser Induced Fluerescence

Email : rajakumar@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Anand Krishnasamy

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Experimental and Numerical Investigations on Low Temperature Combustion Engines Automotive Fuel Surrogate Modeling Establishing Fuel Effects on Engine Combustion and Emission Formation Investigating Engine Emissions Reduction through Fuel Modification Tec

Email : anand_k@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Anand TNC

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD), Laser-based Diagnostics of Sprays and Combustion, I. C. Engines

Email : anand@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Babu Viswanathan

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Simulation of high speed reacting flows, Noise prediction

Email : vbabu@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Mallikarjuna J.M.

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Email : jmmallik@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Manivannan P.V.

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Instrumentation & Control system, Automotive Electronics / Engine Control System, Mechatronic & Embedded Systems, Mobile Robotics and Sensor Network,

Email : pvm@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Mayank Mittal

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Email : mmittal@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Pramod S Mehta

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Phenomenology of Engine Processes,Alternative fuels viz. Bio-diesel, Hydrogen,CFD Modeling of Engine Flows and Combustion ,Emission Modeling particularly Soot,Combustion Diagnostics\Model Based Engine Control

Email : psmehta@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Prasad BVSSS

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Email : prasad@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Raghavan V

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Droplet Vaporization and Combustion, Combustion Modeling, Laminar Flame and Stability, Heterogeneous Combustion, Gasification

Email : raghavan@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Ramesh A

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Alternative fuels, Engine emission control, New engine designs, Engine modeling for control, Engine management systems, HCCI engines and Gasoline direct Injection systems.

Email : aramesh@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Shamit Bakshi

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : IC Engines, Dynamics of droplets and sprays, Computational Fluid Dynamics

Email : shamit@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Srikrishna Sahu

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Email : ssahu@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Srinivasan K

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Resonant Acoustics, Jet Noise, Active and Passive Control of Flow, Noise pollution mitigation

Email : ksri@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Varunkumar S

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IITM

Research Interest : Biomass gasification and combustion, CO kinetics and emission prediction, combustion instability in solid rocket motors

Email : varuns@iitm.ac.in

Dr. Arnab Samanta

Assistant Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Theoretical & Computational Aeroacoustics, Linear & Non-linear Stability Theories, Wave Dynamics, Combustion & Heat Transfer

Email : samanta@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Balakrishnan N

Associate Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Computational Fluid Dynamics: Algorithms and Applications

Email : nbalak@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Charlie Oommen

Principal Research Scientist, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : High energy materials, propellants, fuels, explosive, combustion, polymer chemistry, thermal analysis. nanomaterials, thermites, monopropellants.

Email : coommen@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Gaurav Tomar

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Multiscale simulations, Two-phase flows, Heat and Mass Transfer, Thin films

Email : gtom@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Jaywant Arakeri

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Transition and Turbulence in Fluid Flows, Convective Heat Transfer, Cooling of Electronic Equipment, Unsteady Boundary-layer Separation and Vorticity Dynamics, High Reynolds Number Film Flows.

Email : jaywant@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Joseph Mathew

Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Fluid mechanics, Turbulence Turbulent flow computations, especially Large Eddy Simulation Aeroacoustics, Combustion, Flow design

Email : joseph@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. K N Lakshmisha

Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Turbulent Combustion and Solid Rocket Propellants

Email : kn.lakshmisha@yahoo.co.in

Dr. Pradip Dutta

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Thermal and Energy Systems, Solar Thermal Energy Conversions, Computational Heat Transfer and Fluid Flow, Solidification and Materials Processing

Email : pradip@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Raghuanandan B N

Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Combustion and Propulsion, Internal flows, Heat and Mass Transfer, Energy Technologies for Rural Areas

Email : raghubn@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Raghuraman Govardhan

Associate Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Separated and Unsteady flows, Fluid-Structure Interaction, Microflows, Turbomachinery

Email : raghu@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Rajan N K S

Principal Research Scientist, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Heat Transfer, Experimental and Computational Fluid, Dynamics, Combustion

Email : nksr@cgpl.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Ratnesh Shukla

Assistant Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Multiphase flows (cavitation, bubble dynamics) Unsteady flows, drag reduction and efficient propulsion Numerical methods and scientific computing

Email : ratnesh.shukla@gmail.com

Dr. Ravikrishna R V

Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Combustion, Atomization and Sprays, Laser-based Diagnostic Techniques, Computational Modeling

Email : ravikris@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. S Dasappa

Professor,

Email : dasappa@cgpl.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Santosh Hemchandra

Assistant Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Combustion, Combustion Instability , Multi-phase flows, Numerical methods.

Email : hsantosh@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Saptarshi Basu

Associate Professor, Dept of Mechanical Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Combustion Instability, Optical Diagnostics in Fuel cells, Plasma Processing of Nano-ceramics, Flame-Vortex Interactions, Heat Transfer in Multiphase Systems, Thin Film Energetic Materials, Biofuels, Droplet Dynamics in Plasma and Combustion Flame, Radiat

Email : sbasu@mecheng.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Sivakumar D

Associate Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Atomization of liquid jets and sheets – Experimental characterization of engine sprays – Biofuel sprays – Interaction of liquid drops with solid surfaces – Effects of surface texture on the outcomes of impinging liquid drops – Wetting behavior of hydropho

Email : dskumar@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Dr. Swetaprovo Chaudhuri

Assistant Professor, Dept of Aerospace Engg., IISc Bangalore

Research Interest : Turbulent Reacting Flows in Gas Turbine and other High Speed Propulsion Engines using Optical Diagnostics, High Performance Computation and Theoretical Analysis. Functional Sprays and Droplets in Engine and Solar Cell Applications.

Email : schaudhuri@aero.iisc.ernet.in

Featured People
Dr Anand Krishnasamy

Assistant Professor


Dr Mahesh Panchagnula

Professor


Featured Projects
Featured Facilities